Home » Animal Facts » Leopard




Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Chordata
Class: Mammalia
Order: Carnivora
Suborder: Feliformia
Family: Felidae
Subfamily: Pantherinae
Genus: Panthera
Species: Species differs to region


Leopard is the smallest of four big cats. A Leopard has short legs and a long body with a large skull. It generally has yellow fur with dark rosettes and spots, and a light colored belly. The patterns of rosettes are unique within the individuals. The fur in its body is well adopted for camouflage in the forest. Its fur is soft and thick. The skin tone is varied between the individuals. The color texture of Leopard differs according to the region that lives: Pale cream color to Yellowish brown in arid regions. Mountains and Forest dwelling leopards are more darker and deep golden in color.

The Leopard is mostly active at night. It can climb very well and it stays up in trees (Arboreal) a lot of its time. It is carnivorous and it mostly eats medium sized mammals, like monkeys, rabbits, rodents, birds, reptiles and sometimes it eats insects. Leopards live without drinking water for certain days according to the moisture food it consumed. Leopards usually live alone and try not to meet another Leopard. Leopards have white spots in the tip of the tail and back of the ears. They lead a solitary life except during breeding season.

The Black color Leopards are called Melanistic Leopards or Black Panthers. Melanistic leopards are due to inheritance and recessive genes in the particular trait. The Black panthers are particular to some regions.

Tags :
Previous post link
Next post link

About Balakumar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top