Home » Animal Facts » Lion




Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Chordata
Class: Mammalia
Order: Carnivora
Suborder: Feliformia
Family: Felidae
Subfamily: Pantherinae
Genus: Panthera
Species: Species differs to region


Lion is often called the King of the Jungle. The second largest member of the cat family is Lion. Lions are carnivores (Flesh Eating Animal) animal. They eat big animals like zebra, Antelopes like deer etc.Male lion has a thick mane of hairs around its head and neck region that makes it appear big, this makes the enemy frightened.

Lion habitation is seen mostly in tall grassy areas, Thorn trees forest, rocky areas, and shores of streams. They live in groups called prides. They take rest for 20 hours a day. They are mostly diurnal. The baby of lion is called as cub; babies have other names too Whelps and Lionets. A new born cub has a dark spots in its body and it disappears after it attaining its adulthood. The lion tail end with a dark hairy tuft which develop after 5 ½ months. Lion walk for 2 hours a day and they eat for about 50 minutes.

Lion hunts by its own at the age of two years or after 5 to 6 years. Male lions have their specialty of manes with its pride. The healthier lion is significantly identified by the thick and darker mane. The appearance frightens and warns off the enemies. Lions with thick and dark manes are mostly mates with lioness which is scientifically proved.

Lion can live four days without drinking water. Lion can hunt at night as its vision is six times more sensitive than humans. Its claws are retractable and it has excellent control which helps in speeding up to 50 miles per hour and jump up to a length of 36 feet.

The roaring of a lion can be heard up to 5 miles. It roars to warn other animals which enter its territory and to communicate with one another.

Tags :
Previous post link
Next post link

About Balakumar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top