Home » Animal Facts » Lynx




Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Chordata
Class: Mammalia
Order: Carnivora
Suborder: Feliformia
Family: Felidae
Subfamily: Felinae
Genus: Lynx

A Lynx is a medium sized wild cat. They have shot tails and tufts of black hair on the tips of their ears. They have ruff under the neck, which has black bars. They have large, padded paws and long whiskers on the face. Their body color varies from medium brown to golden and is marked with dark brown spots. They have white fur on the chest. They are carnivorous and they mostly eat rein deer, hares, fish, foxes, sheep, squirrels, mice and birds. They hunt on ground; it can climb trees and can swim for catching fish. The Lynx creates its hideout in crevices or under ledges. They habitat in high altitude forests with dense cover of shrubs, reeds and in tall grasslands. They mostly live alone or in a small group and occasionally hunt in group. This cat family eats on pets and become aggressive if it is cornered.

Today there are four living species of the Lynx-Eurasian lynx, Canada lynx, Iberian lynx and Bob cat. These four species are seen in forests of Europe, Asia and North America. Lynx are nocturnal animal and they love to live alone or in a small group. Lynx are very good in climbing trees and good in swimming. They feed on birds and small mammals.

Bobcat and Eurasian Lynx will feed on large prey such as deer. The Canadian Lynx mostly feeds on snowshoe hare. The Bobcat is hunted for its fur in United States. The population of Canadian Lynx is depended on the snowshoe prey which is its major prey. Canadian Lynx is similar to Bobcat in look but can be differentiated by its longer legs, wider feet, black tipped tail and longer ear tufts.

Tags :
Previous post link
Next post link

About Balakumar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top